Los Angeles Wrongful Death Lawyers
Put 40+ Years of Experience in Your Corner
If your loved one was killed on the job, you may be entitled to additional workers’ compensation benefits. In California, a person’s dependents can receive benefits for a death due to workplace injuries. It is in your best interest to speak to an experienced attorney who can help guide you through the workers’ compensation system. At Hinden & Breslavsky, our Los Angeles wrongful death lawyers have been serving clients throughout the state since 1974. We offer compassionate and personalized legal counsel, coupled with aggressive advocacy and a tireless dedication to our clients.
Who Is Entitled to Death Benefits in California?
California workers’ compensation laws only allow certain individuals to recover compensation when their loved one is killed in a work-related accident or as a result of on-the-job injuries. Generally speaking, only the deceased’s dependents can recover death benefits.
Depending on the situation, dependents can include:
- Children (biological or adopted)
- Cohabiting partners
Some family members are automatically considered dependents. These family members include:
- Children who are under the age of 18
- Adult children who are not able to earn a living due to physically or mentally incapacitated
- A surviving spouse who earned $30,000 or less in the 12 months before their loved one’s death
According to the Cal. Labor Code §§ 3501-3503 (2020), other family members can qualify as dependents but may have to provide evidence that they were wholly dependent on the deceased. It is vital to have an attorney assess your case to make sure benefits are distributed to those who need them, and so that you receive the full amount you are entitled to.
Contact us online or call our office at (323) 553-7560 to discuss your situation during a free initial consultation. There are no fees unless we recovery compensation for you.
How Long Do I Have to File a Wrongful Death Claim in California
According to the Cal. Labor Code § 5406 (2020), a wrongful death claim must be made within one year of your loved one passing and no more than 240 weeks after a fatal injury is incurred. Some circumstances can extend or shorten the amount of time you have to file a claim.
If you are unsure of how long you have to file a claim, an attorney from our firm can help you. Contact our firm today to discuss the detains of you case with an experience member of our team during a free, no-obligation consultation.
We Are Here to Help You
Our team of Los Angeles wrongful death attorneys, hearing representatives, and support staff is dedicated to helping clients get their lives back on track. We understand the immense challenges you and your family are up against, and we are here to help ease your stress and remove some of the burdens you are currently dealing with. While no legal action can undo the suffering you are going through, workers’ compensation death benefits can help with some of the unanticipated financial consequences of your loved one’s death, allowing you to focus on what matters: healing.
Contact us at (323) 553-7560 for a free initial consultation. We offer legal services in English, Spanish, Russian, Hebrew, and Farsi.
Why Choose Our Firm?
We offer services in English, Spanish, Russian, Hebrew & Farsi.
Our team will vigorously advocate on your behalf so that you can put all of your attention into your health.
When we represent you, all of our dedicated professionals will be behind your case.
Experience & Dedication
With more than three decades of experience, we know what strategies are most effective for obtaining maximum compensation for our clients.
At Hinden & Breslavsky, we will walk you step by step through the entire process and make sure that any questions you have are answered promptly.Call (323) 553-7560 Now!